Guide to the Laura R. Merrill Newberry & Caldecott Book Award Winners,

Print this Finding Aid | Email this Finding Aid


Overview of the Collection

Creator: Merrill, Laura Liona Rees, 1876-1963
Title: Laura R. Merrill Newberry & Caldecott Book Award Winners
Dates: 1922-1961 ( inclusive )
Quantity: 1 box> (.5 linear feet)
Collection Number: USU_COLL MSS 090
Summary: The collection includes a file on each Newberry Award winners from 1922-1959.
Repository: Utah State University, Merrill-Cazier Library, Special Collections and Archives Division
Contact Information: Special Collections and Archives
Merrill-Cazier Library
Utah State University
Logan, UT
Telephone: 435-797-2663
Fax: 435-797-2880
Languages: Material in English 

Content Description

The Laura R. Merrill collection consists mainly of material about Newberry and Caldecott Book Award winners. The collection compiled by Logan Junior High School librarian, Laura Merrill, covers the period from 1922 through 1961. In addition to the Caldecott and Newberry Award files, the collection contains a small amount of incoming correspondence to Mrs. Merrill from authors and publishers.

Each year at the Logan Junior High School library Laura Merrill put together a book display. Part of this display was information about the Newberry and Caldecott winner for that year. From 1922 through 1943 and in 1954, 1957 and 1959 material appeared from Newberry Award winners. This material included a letter from the author, a bookcover from the book, and other material relevant to the book. This material has been filed under the authors name and the year of the award. The files are ordered by the year in which the award was won.

The Caldecott file is not nearly as extensive as the Newberry file. The collection has an annual file on the Caldecott winner between 1938-1943 and a file for 1950 and 1961. Within the Caldecott files are several original drawings given for the display. Again these files have been arranged by authors and year of the award. They are also ordered chronologically.

The remainder of the collection consists of miscellaneous correspondence covering the period from 1950 to 1956. The incoming letters are from various authors and publishers. These letters have been filed alphabetically.

Conservation measures taken were to place the material into acid free folders. Material that needs deacidification will be attended to.

Use of the Collection

Restrictions on Access :  

No restrictions on use, except: not available through interlibrary loan.

Restrictions on Use :  

It is the responsibility of the researcher to obtain any necessary copyright clearances.

Permission to publish material from the Laura R. Merrill Newberry & Caldecott Book Award Winners must be obtained from the Special Collections Manuscript Curator and/or the Special Collections Department Head.

Preferred Citation :  

Initial Citation: Laura R. Merrill Newberry & Caldecott Book Award Winners USU_COLL MSS 090, Box [ ]. Special Collections and Archives. Utah State University Merrill-Cazier Library. Logan, Utah.

Following Citations:USU_COLL MSS 090, USUSCA.

Administrative Information

Arrangement :

Arranged alphabetically by author and then chronologically.

Processing Note :  

Processed in November of 2001

Related Materials :  

Laura R. Merrill papers COLL MSS 119

Detailed Description of the Collection

Newberry Medal Books, 1922-1959
1 1 Hendrick van Loon The Story of Mankind 1922
1 2 Hugh Lofting The Voyage of Doctor Dolittle 1923
1 3 Charles Boardman HawesThe Dark Triangle 1924
1 4 Charles T. FIngerTales From Silver Lands 1925
1 5 Arthur B. ChrismanShen of the Sea 1926
1 6 Will JamesSmoky the Cowhorse 1927
1 7 Dhan Gopal MukerjiGay-Neck 1928
1 8 Eric Kelly The Trumpeter of Karkow 1929
1 9 Rachel Field Hitty: Her First Hundred Years 1930
1 10 Elizabeth Coatsworth The Cat Who Went to Heaven 1931
1 11 Laura Adams Arner Waterless Mountain 1932
1 12 Elizabeth Foreman Lewis Young Fu of the Upper Yangtze 1933
1 13 Cornelia MeigsInvincible Louisa 1934
1 14 Monica ShannonDobry 1935
1 15 Carol Ryrie Brink Caddie Woodlawn 1936
1 16 Ruth Sawyer Roller Skates 1937
1 17 Kate Seredy White Stag 1938
1 18 Elizabeth EnrightThimble Summer 1939
1 19 James Daugherty Daniel Boone 1940
1 20 Armstrong Sperry Call It Courage 1941
1 21 Walter D. Edmonds The Matchlock Gun 1943 Esther Forbes Johhny Tremain 1942
1 22 Joseph Krumgold ... And Now Miguel 1954
1 23 Virginia Sorenson Miracles on Maple Hill 1957
1 24 Elizabeth Speare The Witch of Blackbird Pond 1959

^ Return to Top

Caldecott Medal Books, 1938-1961
1 25 Dorthoy P. LathropAnimals of the Bible 1938
1 26 Thomas HandforthMei Li 1939
1 27 Ingre D'Aulaire & Edgar ParinAbraham Lincoln 1940
1 28 Robert LawsonThey Were Strong and Good 1941
1 29 Robert McCloskeyMake Way For Ducklings FoIder 1942
1 30 Virginia Burton The Little House 1943
1 31 Katherine MilhousThe Egg Tree 1951
1 32 Berla & Elmer HaderThe Big Snow1961 1961

^ Return to Top

Miscellaneous Correspondence, Undated
1 33 Miscellaneous Correspondence A - M Undated
1 34 Miscellaneous Correspondence R - W Undated
1 35 Miscellaneous Material Undated
1 36 Envelopes Undated

^ Return to Top


    • Subject Terms :
    • Caldecott Medal
    • Newbery Medal

    ^ Return to Top